My Vegan Exploits in Edinburgh

mirrors

When I booked my birthday adventure for Edinburgh all those months ago I was a hefty meat, dairy & egg slut. I loved steak, I loved eggs, I loved cheese (oh…how I miss you cheese) & most of all I loved treating myself to those big dirty Irish fry ups every so often. Since then I have opted for a…*whispers*… “plant-based diet” – aka I am now that dreaded vegan! I shall not divulge the reason for this choice other than I am making an attempt to save our planet (Google any of the following: meat, milk, eggs & climate change – enough said!), nor am I here to lecture people about becoming “one of us” *insert x-files music here* (but you really should as it is super tasty & oh so healthy!). Not long into the trip I discovered that the beautiful city of Edinburgh was actually voted the “most-vegan friendly city” in the UK and here’s why…

Market next to castle

Raw Vegan Cheesecake Under Edinburgh Castle

We stumbled across so many wonderful markets over the weekend but the institution that is the Edinburgh Farmers Market in Castle Terrace (voted one of the best farmers markets in the world don’t ya know!) was our destination. The setting was magical under the incredible backdrop of Edinburgh Castle as I wanted to devour every single fruit & vegetable that I laid my eyes on. The people were just the loveliest that Saturday morning & the delicious coffee eased the pain of the early start. What secured the title of the best farmers market for me was the mouthwatering “Raw, Vegan Strawberry Cheesecake” which I think I was subliminally attracted to since the moment I left the apartment that morning. What made it better was getting to indulge in the deliciously healthy(?) slice of heaven in the sunshine beneath a majestic fortress.

girl eating cake on a bench

A Recommendation from a Friend

Lunch was an easy decision that day since I was recommended Henderson’s Vegan Restaurant (Holyrood Rd) by a trusted vegetarian friend (danke Brido!). Unfortunately we were having a “late lunch kinda day” and just missed their sit-in menu by about 15mins – argh! Nevertheless they let me grab one of their yummy takeaway wraps from the fridge and man, I am glad I did. Scoffing down it’s lentilly goodness in the courtyard of one of Edinburgh’s many churches reinforced my decision of “Henderson’s I’m coming back just for ya!”.

Chinese Reminiscing

This is a random one and not an experience solely dedicated to Edinburgh or anything but one that made me reminisce harder than I ever have before! Stumbling across a “Cha-time Cafe” (land of the bubble-tea) which I would regularly frequent whilst living in dear ole China – I went in for a look just to tease myself since I reckoned “milk-tea” is the furthest thing from being vegan. Turns out I was wrong…

…who knew there was no-dairy in MILK tea powder? *winning*

gir with sunglasses and bubble tea

A Little Slice of Italy!

The award winning La Favorita is the closest thing to an authentic Italian pizza right in the heart of Edinburgh & it was located right on our AirBnB doorstep – who knew! There was no better place for a bit of birthday indulgence as I entered the first pizzeria where my vegan lifestyle was welcomed with open arms as opposed to awkward silences. They had every pizza option under the sun – both with meaty cheesy goodness & their veggie (vegan)cheesy counterparts. Ironically enough, the first pizzeria I had been in where I could actually order a pizza like everyone else…and I ordered the risotto – but man, I am weak for risottos (& I still stand firmly by my decision). The saffron infused “creamy” risotto melted in my mouth & the olives (my addition) – just MWAH!

vegan risotto

Working Up a Hunger

Sunday morning saw us conquer the stunning extinct volcano that is Arthur’s Seat (well that was our intention, turns out it was Salisbury Crags that we overthrew – breathtaking nonetheless!) All this “mountaineering” mixed with 2 hours of playtime at “Dynamic Earth” saw us work up a serious hunger.

View of Edinburgh City

And what better way to satisfy said hunger than with a filthy (come on, it’s vegan!) burrito in the wonderful “Auld Hoose Pub & Kitchen” on Leonards St. Needless to say the delicious demon was devoured and I savoured every mouthful. The atmosphere here allured us so much we spent much of the rest of the afternoon playing Cards Against Humanity while rubbing our swollen tasty burrito-filled bellies. Another place I shall definitely return for many reasons – the mighty food, the lovely atmosphere, the soundest of barmen & above all to try their intriguing vegan haggis if I can make breakfast!

Vegan Burrito

The City of Edinburgh completely stole my heart for so many non-vegan related reasons – its beauty, its perfect juxtaposition of nature meets city & the fact I felt like I was was transported from the set of Trainspotting one minute to Robin Hood the next. The fact that Edinburgh lived up to its vegan-friendly reputation truly became the cherry on top.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Mmmm! Those meals really look mouthwatering. Although we are not strictly vegans, we love leafy vegetables. 🙂

    Like

    1. They really were! My boyfriend who is an avid meateater loved them too!

      Like

  2. All the food looked absolutely delicious!

    Like

    1. Oh they were – so satisfying IN MA BELLY!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment