A Collection of Positivity from India

I find India gets a bit of a bad wrap when it comes to travel. Of all the countries I mentioned I was going to, this was the one where I had gotten the biggest gurns, the most negative feedback, from people, ironically, who had never visited the country but had already formed strong pessimistic views. This was partially one of the reasons I wanted to visit India, to find out for myself what the real story was. Don’t get me wrong, I have read the articles and seen the news reports, there has been horrific incidences in the not so recent past but India is a huge country, with a huge population and I wanted to give it a chance.

After a pretty shitty(literally) start to my Indian adventure, I entered the country with a strange apprehension, a horrible apprehension that I can only put down to the combination of being the most violently ill I had ever been during all my travels (Philippines fault, not India!) mixed with all these negative doubts that had been unintentionally implanted on my subconscious. This is where the phrase “it’s all uphill from here” could not be more true…so in an attempt to encourage and inspire, here’s some of the many positive elements I encountered on my trip!

1

1. The Insanely Wonderful Assault of the Senses.

Those first few steps out onto the Delhi streets is like being hit with a sledge hammer, except that sledge hammer is made from turmeric, motorbikes and goats…sure it would probably hurt like hell but you know what I mean! The overwhelming surge of hustle and bustle, the people everywhere, the animals in the most obscure places, the dimly lit “shacks” selling just about…everything – it engulfs you and feels utterly surreal. This is the  amazing Asia you always dreamed off…

2

2. Monkeys…Everywhere!

Ok, I have a confession…I am secretly terrified of monkeys…Asian Monkeys. This fear may of stemmed from a very hairy encounter with some tricksy demons monkeys in Angkor Wat. Never the less, I am also completely enchanted by them and India has monkeys like Ireland has cows. Be it watching sunset from a “Monkey Village” in Jaipur where the monkeys have actually TAKEN OVER, the original residents had to pretty much abandon their homes and move out – I spent more time curiously watching these cheeky feckers than the actual sunset! Or how about being woken up every morning by tribes of monkeys clattering down on your corrugated iron roof (Pushkar), where I then spent hours watching them interact like a little army of people right from my balcony – mystifying! 3

3. Doing as the Indians Do

One of my favourite things about travelling around most Asian countries is the ability to rent a motorbike from pretty much anywhere without a hint of proof  that you can drive one! (Note: I could drive one – thank you Vietnam!) They are officially the best way of exploring and experiencing the ins and outs of the country! What makes it even better is the smiles and laughter from the locals when they spot a white Irish girl at the helm! Another signature scene from any Asian adventure is the sight of an entire family PLUS a newborn sitting quite comfortably on a Honda 50 driving at 60km/hr  – an experience I got to finally tick off the bucket list! 5 on a bike?  No problem!!

Pushkar 5 people on a bike

4. The Taj Mahal

Now, I am not normally the person who tries to tick as many “famous” landmarks off “the list” ( but I’m not going to be naive and say I only travel “off the beaten track”either, as much as I endeavour too!). Let’s just say there is a reason this building in Agra is 1 of the 7 wonders of the world! The entire complex is pure beauty but as you venture through the main gateway in all it’s sandstone glory and catch your first glimpse of the “marble goddess” you are left breathless (yes I know how cheesy it sounds but it’s true!).The entire complex, the gardens, the tomb, the mosque – lie in perfect symmetry, this alone creates an incredibly poignant physical experience, one which I have never before experienced. A powerful feeling of sheer calm takes over…

P7300003 copy

Tip: arrive early! We got their for sunrise and it was relatively (relatively for India) quiet, but within an hour or two the place was thronged which certainly takes from that “tranquil” feeling! Great lighting for photographs too!

5. The Best Family in India

THE PEOPLE MAKE INDIA! The charm, the eccentricity, the pure kindness, with the amazing power to make you laugh, cry and scream all at the same time! One family really stand out for me, they owned a little homestay that I happened upon in Fort Cochin, Kerala and wow!!  The feeling of being so warmly welcomed into a family again after not seeing your own for nearly a year is overwhelming! Having a mom who looks after you when your “Delhi Belly” is in full swing, having a dad who wakes up at the crack of dawn to help you book those impossible train tickets, a little sister who practises Bollywood dancing with you and a little bro who paints you a gallery full of pictures when he’s finished his homework – it could not of been a better home away from home!P9730004 copy

Honourable mention: CHAI CHAI?

Oh…my…christ…CHAI! Could you get anything better than this wondrous creation? A full fledged addiction to the stuff began during my time in India. Be it waking up in the morning on those long train rides to “chai chai” ringing in your ear or the chance to drink it at any opportunity – waiting for a bus chai, breakfast chai, rickshaw chai? It makes us Irish look like total amateurs…

4

2 Comments Add yours

  1. If you fancy listening to a cover of the Irish song,Sean South from Garryowen, then please stop by and take a look / listen 🙂 https://juniorchills.wordpress.com/2016/03/09/junior-chills-sean-south-of-garryowen/

    Like

    1. That is a random enough old comment but why not?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment