Myanmar is Pure Magic!

Myanmar, or Burma as it is formally known (and programmed in my head as) is a magical magical land! Even before I visited it, it was a country that completely enchanted me with its mystery and allure…even after I visited it, I still look back in complete wonderment! Here’s why:

1. The beautiful thanaka faces of Myanmar.

Where we have make-up…the people of Myanmar have thanaka. These organic yellow cheeks & foreheads decorated in patterns from the ground down tree bark looks 1 million times more beautiful than anything I have ever encountered on Irish streets:

myanmar

2. A Kingdom of Temples

Myanmar is famous for being a land dotted with temples…everywhere! With the almighty Mecca of the Shwedagon Pagoda in Yangon to the 1000’s of temples which make up Bagan, the cat temples, the dog temples, the floating temples, the shiny ones and the not-so-shiny ones…the list is actually endless. The not so shiny corrugated iron versions were my favourite and you can see why:

Untitled-3

3. The [Tofu] Feasts for a King

Now admittingly, the food in Myanmar isn’t at the top of my list but what these people can do with tofu is something else! Being welcomed in off the street into a lovely home and being served up a delicious tofu salad is an experience I just want to re-live again, again…and again! Or how about a bowl of “Tophu Nway” – a liquid tofu & noodle soup which provided serious sustenance while walking around the markets in Yangon *drools*:

P2610001 copy

4. The Spellbinding Markets

As you know I am a complete market-slut and man, did Myanmar deliver. My most spell-binding market experience was at the morning market in Hsipaw. I arose at 4.30am (it was totally worth it!) and made my way to the market where people from all over the hill tribes of the Shan state gathered since the early hours of the morning. Being the only white person I stood out an absolute mile but after buying some delicious fruit and gorgeous flowers (mom you would be impressed) I think I became “accepted”:

P4010002 copy

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment